Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Play unplayed first & genre tags
13-03-2023, 18:36
Play unplayed first & genre tags
I am new to minimserver and have 2 questions to start.

1. I used to tag genre as "Jazz" and if it belongs to multiple genres "Jazz;Blues". That worked on my LMS squeezbox, but not as good as I wanted on minimserver. How can I get these songs displayed in both genres seperatly, instead of displaying a category as "Jazz;Blues"?

2. The main reason to come back to my owned music is that spotify "algorithms" me what to listen to. Everytime the same 100 songs out of a playlist om 1000"s of songs.
So has Minimserver a way to give preference to least played music first if shuffling all songs?

Many Thanks, Johan
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
13-03-2023, 18:57
RE: Play unplayed first & genre tags
(13-03-2023 18:36)jdg072 Wrote:  I am new to minimserver and have 2 questions to start.

1. I used to tag genre as "Jazz" and if it belongs to multiple genres "Jazz;Blues". That worked on my LMS squeezbox, but not as good as I wanted on minimserver. How can I get these songs displayed in both genres seperatly, instead of displaying a category as "Jazz;Blues"?

2. The main reason to come back to my owned music is that spotify "algorithms" me what to listen to. Everytime the same 100 songs out of a playlist om 1000"s of songs.
So has Minimserver a way to give preference to least played music first if shuffling all songs?

Many Thanks, Johan

The answer to your first question is to use "\\" as the genre separator and not ";".

Not sure about your second question.
13-03-2023, 20:09
(13-03-2023 18:57)RSJ Wrote:  The answer to your first question is to use "\\" as the genre separator and not ";".
\\ is the delimiter that Mp3Tag uses to signify that a tag is (to be) split into multiple values, it's not stored in the tag, and other apps have chosen to use different delimiters (foobar uses ; ).