Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Would a "wav32" Output Type Be Possible?
19-04-2020, 22:36 (This post was last modified: 19-04-2020 22:45 by GreenMtnGringo.)
Post: #1
Would a "wav32" Output Type Be Possible?
Hi Simon. I am enjoying MinimServer 2 and experimenting with different transcoding profiles. In the process, I noticed this paragraph in the MinimStreamer user guide:

"For best sound quality, it is recommended that you use the output sample bit depth that matches the maximum capabil[i]ty of your music player. For example, if your music player is a Linn DS, the best match is wav24. Results may vary with different types of music player."

I am streaming from my Melco N1Z/1 via Ethernet to an Auralic Aries G2 streaming transport, which feeds an Auralic Vega G2 DAC via HDMI (or, as Auralic calls it, "Lightning Link"). The Aries G2 and Vega G2 have 32-bit-depth capability. Hence, I tried to set the following transcoding combination:

flac:wav32;

This caused an error message, so I reverted to:

flac:wav24;

Long story short, I was wondering if a "wav32" output type would be possible?

Thanks very much.

Melco HA-N1ZH60 Mk1 (MinimServer 2) --> network --> AURALiC ARIES G2 --> Lightning Link (WWPS7 hdmi) --> AURALiC VEGA G2 with AURALiC LEO GX Master Clock --> XLR --> Mark Levinson No. 326S --> RCA --> JL Audio E-Sub e110 (active crossover @ 100 Hz) --> RCA --> Bryston 4B3 (Cubed) --> Magnepan .7
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
19-04-2020, 22:51
Post: #2
RE: Would a "wav32" Output Type Be Possible?
I agree that it would be good to have this. The reason this isn't available isn't technical but historical: when I first wrote this code, 24-bit was the most that anything supported. It is a moderate amount of work to go through all the places that handle 24 bits and update these to support 32 bits.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
19-04-2020, 23:06 (This post was last modified: 19-04-2020 23:12 by GreenMtnGringo.)
Post: #3
RE: Would a "wav32" Output Type Be Possible?
Hi Simon and thanks for the reply. Good to hear that "wav32" is technically possible. The "wav24;" output type sounds great on my system. It would be very interesting to see if "wav32" or "wav32;" could sound even better. If you think it is worthwhile to offer "wav32" as a new output type, I would be grateful for and welcome the opportunity to demo it. Thanks again.

Melco HA-N1ZH60 Mk1 (MinimServer 2) --> network --> AURALiC ARIES G2 --> Lightning Link (WWPS7 hdmi) --> AURALiC VEGA G2 with AURALiC LEO GX Master Clock --> XLR --> Mark Levinson No. 326S --> RCA --> JL Audio E-Sub e110 (active crossover @ 100 Hz) --> RCA --> Bryston 4B3 (Cubed) --> Magnepan .7
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
20-04-2020, 14:15
Post: #4
RE: Would a "wav32" Output Type Be Possible?
(19-04-2020 22:51)simoncn Wrote:  ... when I first wrote this code, 24-bit was the most that anything supported. It is a moderate amount of work to go through all the places that handle 24 bits and update these to support 32 bits.

Presumably this improvement would only be made available in MinimServer 2?

David
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
20-04-2020, 14:51
Post: #5
RE: Would a "wav32" Output Type Be Possible?
Yes, from now on all improvements will only be in MinimServer 2. The QNAP version is progessing well and should be available soon. Smile

It is still possible that very serious bugs might be fixed in MinimServer 0.8. This will be a judgment call based on the severity of the bug and the extent of its impact to users. When MinimServer 2 is available for all platforms, I don't intend to release any more MinimServer 0.8 updates.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
20-04-2020, 16:10
Post: #6
RE: Would a "wav32" Output Type Be Possible?
I hope you all know that 32bit audio is silly and offers no improvment over 24bit.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
20-04-2020, 16:24 (This post was last modified: 20-04-2020 16:24 by GreenMtnGringo.)
Post: #7
RE: Would a "wav32" Output Type Be Possible?
Maybe so if one has a 24bit DAC. But Auralic's current Vega G2 DAC and Aries G2 streaming transport operate at 32bits. Hence my question.

Melco HA-N1ZH60 Mk1 (MinimServer 2) --> network --> AURALiC ARIES G2 --> Lightning Link (WWPS7 hdmi) --> AURALiC VEGA G2 with AURALiC LEO GX Master Clock --> XLR --> Mark Levinson No. 326S --> RCA --> JL Audio E-Sub e110 (active crossover @ 100 Hz) --> RCA --> Bryston 4B3 (Cubed) --> Magnepan .7
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
20-04-2020, 23:31
Post: #8
RE: Would a "wav32" Output Type Be Possible?
(20-04-2020 16:24)GreenMtnGringo Wrote:  Maybe so if one has a 24bit DAC. But Auralic's current Vega G2 DAC and Aries G2 streaming transport operate at 32bits. Hence my question.

How do they handle 24 (and fewer) bit material? Do they upsample it, or do they play it natively? AFAIK, there is little or no commercially available 32 bit material. Indeed, only a small proportion of recordings are available at 24 bit, and high resolution streaming is still very much a minority interest.

David
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
21-04-2020, 00:28
Post: #9
RE: Would a "wav32" Output Type Be Possible?
(20-04-2020 16:24)GreenMtnGringo Wrote:  Maybe so if one has a 24bit DAC. But Auralic's current Vega G2 DAC and Aries G2 streaming transport operate at 32bits. Hence my question.

Just throwing out some random thoughts.

So, do you know if the devices support fixed integer or floating point 32bit? Or perhaps more pertinently does Simon need to know this? Or does it no longer matter?

I know that some ASIO drivers work with 32bit containers which can support 24bit files. These can be integer 32lsb format, I.e. no resampling.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
21-04-2020, 03:06 (This post was last modified: 21-04-2020 03:07 by GreenMtnGringo.)
Post: #10
RE: Would a "wav32" Output Type Be Possible?
According to Auralic, its devices "convert everything into 32 bit for better processing resolution."

Not sure if it is fixed integer or floating point, though.

Melco HA-N1ZH60 Mk1 (MinimServer 2) --> network --> AURALiC ARIES G2 --> Lightning Link (WWPS7 hdmi) --> AURALiC VEGA G2 with AURALiC LEO GX Master Clock --> XLR --> Mark Levinson No. 326S --> RCA --> JL Audio E-Sub e110 (active crossover @ 100 Hz) --> RCA --> Bryston 4B3 (Cubed) --> Magnepan .7
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)