Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
A request for Genre/Subgenre handling
05-03-2013, 11:38
A request for Genre/Subgenre handling
Hi,
I'm new to MinimServer - and at first I'd like to say how impressed and thankful I am!
I've tried nearly every DNLA-Server available for my Synology DS212j but MinimServer does more than I thought it could be possible.
I'm already busy correcting all my tags.

But now my request:
I'm working with GENRE, SUBGENRE and STYLE.
STYLE is a category that might be independent from GENRE, so it works ok for me as it is.
But 'd love to see SUBGENREs in folders below the GENREs, and not on the same level.
Or is this already possible?

Thanks and regards,
Martin
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-03-2013, 12:54
RE: A request for Genre/Subgenre handling
(05-03-2013 11:38)MartinGr Wrote:  Hi,
I'm new to MinimServer - and at first I'd like to say how impressed and thankful I am!
I've tried nearly every DNLA-Server available for my Synology DS212j but MinimServer does more than I thought it could be possible.
I'm already busy correcting all my tags.

But now my request:
I'm working with GENRE, SUBGENRE and STYLE.
STYLE is a category that might be independent from GENRE, so it works ok for me as it is.
But 'd love to see SUBGENREs in folders below the GENREs, and not on the same level.
Or is this already possible?

Thanks and regards,
Martin

MinimServer always shows all valid tag choices for the contents of the current selection. To do what you want, you can select the Genre first, then select the Subgenre from the next-level menu.

The design philosophy of MinimServer is that all tag choices are treated as independent and can be made in any order. This approach is simple and clear, and works well in nearly all cases. I suppose it might be possible to design a way to make some choices conditional on other choices having been made first, but I'm not convinced that adding this would be worth the extra complexity.