Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Roberts 93i Stream and BBC High Definition Streams
22-12-2015, 11:49
Roberts 93i Stream and BBC High Definition Streams
Hi.

I am new to both MinimServer and MinimStreamer, so if I'm asking obvious questions, please remember this.

I am running MinimServer & MininStreamer on a Synology DS215j Nas.

I have a Roberts 93i Stream radio in the home office I have at the end of the garden - sounds posh, but really its a just a nice shed!!!

Everything is Ethernet wired - including the radio.

Setting up MinimServer and MinimStreamer was a breeze - using the packages from within the Synology to set up Java and then Mininserver was easy - even for someone as new to all this media streaming as I am.

I wanted to use MinimServer and MinimSreamer to get the high definition radio feeds from the BBC to the Roberts 93i Stream radio.

I decided to follow the route of using MinimServer to transcode the high res streams and then "simply" use the Music Player mode in the Roberts radio to find the MinimServer via the Shared Media menu options, rather than trying to configure everything as an "Internet Radio" feed.

For a first attempt this just seemed to be an easier option, rather than having to set fixed IP addresses, set up new stations in the Radio-Frontier portal... etc etc.

So, I followed the instructions on streaming the BBC feeds on the MinimStreamer - using this link:

For information about playing BBC HLS streams on other UPnP renderers, see this page.

Literally, 10 minutes later, I had it working, and sat quite smugly in my office/manshed listening to BBS Radio 2.

Initially, at first try, non of the streams worked, but as advised I changed the stream.transcode to *:L16 and bingo, BBC Radio started to play through the Roberts Radio!!

Happy Days!

I had a play, deleted some of the stations in the playlist (using textedit - I'm on a Mac) - all OK.

I renamed some of the streams - all OK.