Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Does Miniserver support flac?
03-09-2015, 02:17
Does Miniserver support flac?
I'm new to using minimserver and like what I hear already. But I can't play any flac. Is it necessary to install minimstreamer?

I installed Minimserver on my qnap212 where the music files are stored. Minimwatch is on my desktop. I use JplayStreamer on a CAPS computer.

JplayStreamer with Jriver as server will play flac just fine (no transcoding). But with Minimserver I get no output with flac files. It's fine with wav.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-09-2015, 11:25
RE: Does Miniserver support flac?
(03-09-2015 02:17)BaW Wrote:  I'm new to using minimserver and like what I hear already. But I can't play any flac. Is it necessary to install minimstreamer?

I installed Minimserver on my qnap212 where the music files are stored. Minimwatch is on my desktop. I use JplayStreamer on a CAPS computer.

JplayStreamer with Jriver as server will play flac just fine (no transcoding). But with Minimserver I get no output with flac files. It's fine with wav.

JPlayStreamer is limited to playing WAV files only. This means you need to install MinimStreamer and enable WAV transcoding in order to play FLAC files using JPlayStreamer. I believe the JPlay website has instructions for doing this and configuring the necessary settings.
03-09-2015, 20:43 (This post was last modified: 03-09-2015 20:44 by jrobbins50.)
(03-09-2015 11:25)simoncn Wrote:  
(03-09-2015 02:17)BaW Wrote:  I'm new to using minimserver and like what I hear already. But I can't play any flac. Is it necessary to install minimstreamer?

JPlayStreamer is limited to playing WAV files only. This means you need to install MinimStreamer and enable WAV transcoding in order to play FLAC files using JPlayStreamer. I believe the JPlay website has instructions for doing this and configuring the necessary settings.