MinimServer Forum
ReadyNAS Duo v2 - Printable Version

+- MinimServer Forum (https://forum.minimserver.com)
+-- Forum: MinimServer (/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+--- Thread: ReadyNAS Duo v2 (/showthread.php?tid=5152)



ReadyNAS Duo v2 - Nintendodogs - 02-01-2019 15:44

Having read all I can on here, it seems i have the wrong NAS for this. I recently bought the fantastic Cambridge Audio network player, and the built in server in the ReadyNas was skipping sections of music. Cambridge Audio suggested adding a different uPnP server, which is why I'm here.
For the life of me i cannot get minimserver to install on the NAS. I keep getting the "wrong Architecture" error others have reported. Tried all the variations of PC (2x w10 , 1x wXP) and various browsers all to no avail.
Do I need to dump the Netgear Readynas Duo V2, firmware 4.1.16 (latest).

Thanks,

Ian.


RE: ReadyNAS Duo v2 - Sherwoodforest - 02-01-2019 18:14

Such documentation I can find which gives a detailed spec of the processor in this NAS confirms it should be ARM based.

You are trying to load the ARM download, and not the X86?


RE: ReadyNAS Duo v2 - Cebolla - 02-01-2019 19:15

(02-01-2019 18:14)Sherwoodforest Wrote:  Such documentation I can find which gives a detailed spec of the processor in this NAS confirms it should be ARM based.
However, that conflicts with the firmware version 4.1.6 - which is supposed to be for the ReadyNAS Duo V1 not V2. This would mean it has a SPARC processor instead & unfortunately not able to install MinimServer, going by the info in similar older threads.

(02-01-2019 15:44)Nintendodogs Wrote:  Do I need to dump the Netgear Readynas Duo V2, firmware 4.1.16 (latest)
Are you sure it's V2 and not V1 revision 2, given the 4.1.6 firmware?


RE: ReadyNAS Duo v2 - Sherwoodforest - 02-01-2019 19:22

...Indeed, 4.1.16 would indicate a ReadyNas Duo Version 1, with a Sparc processor rather than Marvell(ARM) (and therefore incompatible).


RE: ReadyNAS Duo v2 - simoncn - 02-01-2019 20:32

I recall from the dim recesses of my memory that some v1 units had a v2 designation on the back label (see this thread). If your NAS says v2 on the front, it is a true v2.


RE: ReadyNAS Duo v2 - Nintendodogs - 03-01-2019 12:00

Hmm, it definitely says V2 on the back label. I'll have to look at the front.


RE: ReadyNAS Duo v2 - Nintendodogs - 03-01-2019 17:57

On the label RND2000 V2
On the front just ReadyNAS Duo.

Guess i've got a v1 in disguise...


RE: ReadyNAS Duo v2 - Nintendodogs - 03-01-2019 18:02

Having read that old thread. YEs, must be a v1 with v2 hardware revision...

What would be a good replacement? Any opinions? I have heard good things about qnap, don't need massive storage, but do want basic raid, like the duo.

Thanks for the advice, all.


RE: ReadyNAS Duo v2 - simoncn - 04-01-2019 08:32

QNAP is good, as is Synology. MinimServer supports all models of both these brands.