MinimServer Forum

Full Version: sort oder
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I am new to minim server. I have several libraries of music in exactly the order I want and then I have other libraries where artist, album, track is what I want. Artist, Album, Track works great right out of the box, but I cannot find how to make it play the other libraries in file order. Any ideas?
You don’t say what control point you are using but you should see something called Folder View as well as Artist, Album etc.

This will show your music in the structure of you folders on disk
I do use folder view. When I look at the folders where I have it organized by artist and album it plays in the proper track order when I select an album. In the other folders I have individual songs that are in filename order. I structured the filenames to be in the order I wanted them to play in. In folder view it does not play these in filename order. I am not really sure what order it is using.
I think you have to create playlists to achieve this
By default, files in folder view are sorted first by album name (as tagged) and then by track number (as tagged) within each album.

You can change this default sort order by setting folder.sortTags in the tagOptions property. For example, to sort tracks by title (as tagged) you can set tagOptions to folder.sortTags={Title}.

This will sort tracks by title (as tagged) and not by filename, so you might not get the results you want if the title (as tagged) doesn't match the filename.

If you want to completely ignore all titles (as tagged) and always use the filename as the title, you can set the aliasTags property to Title:nil. In combination with folder.sortTags={Title}, this will give you the sort order you want in folder view but might produce unexpected results elsewhere.