MinimServer Forum

Full Version: Confused by Tags
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hi Folks
I've just moved to using Minimserver on a Melco music server, having previously used Asset on a NAS. All my CDs were ripped with dbPoweramp. I'm confused by the various tags and specifically the names with spaces, no spaces and underscores.

If I look at my music files, I've got Album Artist Sort, Artist Sort and Album Sort filled in. I want to use these settings to get Kate Bush under B. I've also used Album Sort to get my preferred order for albums within an artist.

I have a paid-for subscription to Minimserver 2 so should be able to add profiles.

How can I do it?

Thanks
Gavin
First, you need to sure what the actual tag names in the files are. This is important to be able to configure MinimServer correctly for what you want to do.

It is likely that the actual tag names are AlbumArtistSort, ArtistSort and AlbumSort (no spaces or underscores). You can check this by changing the indexTags property from:

Artist, All Artists, Genre, Date, Composer

to:

Artist, All Artists, Genre, Date, Composer, AlbumArtistSort, ArtistSort, AlbumSort

and restarting MinimServer. You can then browse your library and check that you see the files you are expecting in the AlbumArtistSort, ArtistSort and AlbumSort indexes.

Please post back here when you have confirmed this.
I don't see anything extra appearing - there's only Folder View under the Composer options.
Did you restart MinimServer after making the indexTags change? Also, some control points (for example, BubbleUPnP and the LUMIN app) require you to reload the MinimServer library into the control point.

Another way to verify the tag names is to use the writeAllTags property (see this section). On the Melco, you should set this property to:

/mnt/disk1/share/alltags.txt