MinimServer Forum

Full Version: De-duplicating on Synology DS412+
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
Newbie here and p'haps a bit dim! Big Grin

OK - I have approx 800 albums on a DS412+, feeding Linn Kazoo, playing through Linn DS Magik.

My issue is that, what with compilations, best ofs, MP3 back ups of FLAC or vice versa, quite a lot of my music is duplicated or even triplicated.

What this means is, I might select an album and then find each song showing 2 or 3 times in the playlist.

I have in the past just deleted the dupes from the playlist, but of course that's a pain when you simply want to select, play and enjoy.

Can MinimServer help and if so, is the initial de-duping still laborious and time consuming?

Thanks in advance for help!

Lin
It sounds like your library isn't particularly well organised.
Your best bet would be to move your "backup" MP3s/FLACs to a separate directory (perhaps called "backup") from the one Minim scans.
As for compilation albums etc., such is the way. There will be duplicate tracks, but if they are tagged correctly they will appear as separate albums.
(08-03-2018 10:57)timster Wrote: [ -> ]It sounds like your library isn't particularly well organised.
Your best bet would be to move your "backup" MP3s/FLACs to a separate directory (perhaps called "backup") from the one Minim scans.
As for compilation albums etc., such is the way. There will be duplicate tracks, but if they are tagged correctly they will appear as separate albums.

Thanks for that - correct, I never organised it. I sent the CDs off to be bulk ripped to the NAS. Stuff I've added since is by the odd disc, amazon MP3 dowloads and iTunes.

Argh - what a mess.

Know of a cure all program that scans the lot and asks me how many/which version I wish to keep?

"Come on (Let the good times roll)" is one of my favourite tracks. Just not 5 times in a row!