MinimServer Forum

Full Version: Minimwatch cannot be uninstalled
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I have successfully installed Minimserver on my Synology 216j and tried to install Minimwatch on my desktop. The icon is grey and Minimwatch does not start working. When I try to uninstall it, it says Minimwatch is working and must be exited. But the exit button is nowhere offered. The grey icon does not react to anything, looks like a vicious circle. I am a computer layman, sorry, but I am completely clueless.
The appearance of the grey icon suggests that MinimWatch is indeed running. You close it by right-clicking (or Ctrl-clicking on a Mac with a single button mouse) on the icon, then selecting the Exit option. What happens when you do this?

The real issue, however, is the fact that MinimWatch is not finding the running instance of MinimServer on the NAS. There are several possible causes for this, but the easiest one to diagnose is that your security software (most likely the firewall) may be blocking MinimWatch. Try temporarily disabling your security software, and see whether the MinimWatch icon turns green. If it does, the right-click on the icon gives you the menu of features described in the User Guide. You will need to set an exception for MinimWatch in the firewall or application control settings of tour security software.

If the security software is not the issue, please come back. It would help us to know which Operating System your desktop computer is using.

David