Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
setting ignore.sort in the All Artists tag?
23-01-2023, 17:11
setting ignore.sort in the All Artists tag?
Hi

I'm a newbie, so please be gentle. The context of my question is that of a predominantly rock/pop/blues/jazz music library (as opposed to classical).

According to the User Guide, when the tags are correctly set up, AlbumArtist gives me the obvious "name on the front cover", or "Various" for compilations. But Artist gives me *only* the name in the Artist field when AlbumArtist isn't set. If that's correct, then I'm sure it made sense to the author but doesn't to me, and it seems that what I want, to give me a list of all artists in my collection, either with their name on the front or just on one track, is the composite All Artists tag. That's fine.

But, how do I set up the ignore.sort property for the All Artists tag? Otherwise I'll have The Beatles turning up under B when viewed in the Artist or AlbumArtist lists, but under T in the All Artist list. I tried the obvious, that is All Artists.ignore.sort={The}, but that barfed with MinimServer: incorrect tag name 'All Artists' in property 'tagOptions'

So I was assuming that it might not be liking the space in All Artists, but it seems to have correctly parsed the tag name but then decided it can't have tag options.

Any suggestions?

Thanks
Pete
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
23-01-2023, 17:48
RE: setting ignore.sort in the All Artists tag?
As you have discovered, the All Artists index shows all Artist tags in your library. To change the sort order for these Artist tags, you need to set Artist.ignore.sort={The}. This also changes the sort order for Artist tags shown in the Artist index. For AbumArtist tags that are shown in the Artist index or the AlbumArtist index, the equivalent setting is AlbumArtist.ignore.sort={The}.