Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Can minim server apply different setting by DLNA render?
03-02-2020, 06:56 (This post was last modified: 04-02-2020 07:32 by mmx139.)
Can minim server apply different setting by DLNA render?
HI,

I am new to Minimserver. I have a huge music library all ripped from my CD collection by myself so there are 2 main formats:

1. FLAC (44.1K/16B PCM) from standard CD
2. DSF (DSD64) from SACD

I put them into one library on my Synology NAS and setup Minimserver on it as well. I have 3 AV receivers I use as DLNA renders in 3 rooms:

1. Onkyo RZ830 support DSD64 via DLNA
2. Onkyo NR838 support up to 192K/24B PCM via DLNA
3. Yamah V1067 support up to 96K/24B PCM via DLNA

They all have no issue playing the standard CD flac but for SACD which I am getting more and more, I hope I can stream the best on each device (DSD64, 176/24, 96/24). So I'd like to the DLNA server can recognize the renderer and do the transcode.

I can easily do this on a PC Foobar2000 by defining different profile under user-agent. Can I do the similar thing in Minimserver?

Any help will be highly appreciated.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-02-2020, 10:36
RE: Can minim server apply different setting by DLNA render?
The UPnP protocol does not allow the server to make this choice, only the control point. foobar2000 includes both a server and a control point but MinimServer is just a server. Which control point are you using with MinimServer?
03-02-2020, 11:50
(03-02-2020 10:36)simoncn Wrote:  The UPnP protocol does not allow the server to make this choice, only the control point. foobar2000 includes both a server and a control point but MinimServer is just a server. Which control point are you using with MinimServer?

I use the offcial app from ONKYO and Yamaha to control the AV Receiver which also serve as DLNA control point.