Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
ReadyNAS Duo v2
02-01-2019, 15:44
Post: #1
ReadyNAS Duo v2
Having read all I can on here, it seems i have the wrong NAS for this. I recently bought the fantastic Cambridge Audio network player, and the built in server in the ReadyNas was skipping sections of music. Cambridge Audio suggested adding a different uPnP server, which is why I'm here.
For the life of me i cannot get minimserver to install on the NAS. I keep getting the "wrong Architecture" error others have reported. Tried all the variations of PC (2x w10 , 1x wXP) and various browsers all to no avail.
Do I need to dump the Netgear Readynas Duo V2, firmware 4.1.16 (latest).

Thanks,

Ian.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-01-2019, 18:14
Post: #2
RE: ReadyNAS Duo v2
Such documentation I can find which gives a detailed spec of the processor in this NAS confirms it should be ARM based.

You are trying to load the ARM download, and not the X86?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-01-2019, 19:15 (This post was last modified: 02-01-2019 19:20 by Cebolla.)
Post: #3
RE: ReadyNAS Duo v2
(02-01-2019 18:14)Sherwoodforest Wrote:  Such documentation I can find which gives a detailed spec of the processor in this NAS confirms it should be ARM based.
However, that conflicts with the firmware version 4.1.6 - which is supposed to be for the ReadyNAS Duo V1 not V2. This would mean it has a SPARC processor instead & unfortunately not able to install MinimServer, going by the info in similar older threads.

(02-01-2019 15:44)Nintendodogs Wrote:  Do I need to dump the Netgear Readynas Duo V2, firmware 4.1.16 (latest)
Are you sure it's V2 and not V1 revision 2, given the 4.1.6 firmware?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-01-2019, 19:22
Post: #4
RE: ReadyNAS Duo v2
...Indeed, 4.1.16 would indicate a ReadyNas Duo Version 1, with a Sparc processor rather than Marvell(ARM) (and therefore incompatible).
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-01-2019, 20:32
Post: #5
RE: ReadyNAS Duo v2
I recall from the dim recesses of my memory that some v1 units had a v2 designation on the back label (see this thread). If your NAS says v2 on the front, it is a true v2.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-01-2019, 12:00
Post: #6
RE: ReadyNAS Duo v2
Hmm, it definitely says V2 on the back label. I'll have to look at the front.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-01-2019, 17:57
Post: #7
RE: ReadyNAS Duo v2
On the label RND2000 V2
On the front just ReadyNAS Duo.

Guess i've got a v1 in disguise...
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-01-2019, 18:02
Post: #8
RE: ReadyNAS Duo v2
Having read that old thread. YEs, must be a v1 with v2 hardware revision...

What would be a good replacement? Any opinions? I have heard good things about qnap, don't need massive storage, but do want basic raid, like the duo.

Thanks for the advice, all.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-01-2019, 08:32
Post: #9
RE: ReadyNAS Duo v2
QNAP is good, as is Synology. MinimServer supports all models of both these brands.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)