Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
End of the line for MinimServer on old QNAP?
06-06-2018, 12:14
Post: #1
End of the line for MinimServer on old QNAP?
Returning home after a period away I fired up my pc to be greeted by a MinimServer 'Newer version available' message, telling me to upgrade from 0.8.4 to 0.8.5. This version of MS is running on an early generation QNAP TS-109, and I followed the Updating MinimServer instructions on the MS site. But I ran aground at step 3. I can't find a 'Developer Tools' option for my QNAP and the only Java plugin available from 'Get QPKG' is JRE v 6.0.22 and only for Intel x86 machines. (Mine's Arm v5). (By now I had removed JRE_ARM, and, puzzlingly, Minimserver, which was playing a radio stream from MinimStreamer, continued to play flawlessly. I assume therefore it needs the java for searching, start-up or some such, rather than actually serving the audio.) At this stage I was flummoxed, not sure how to restore the JRE_ARM package so at least I could continue with MS 0.8.4, but then realised I might have the file still on my old pc, from which I've only recently migrated. Sure enough, I found it, and also a QPKG file for JRE7, which got my hopes up, only to be dashed when it failed to install. But I've been able to re-install JRE_ARM and MinimServer 0.8.4 continues to operate flawlessly. Long may it continue to do so, as, aged though it is, my QNAP TS-109 also continues to work well.

So this post just for info/feedback really, though if I've missed a trick and there is a way to update to MS 0.8.5 on my old QNAP, I'd love to hear about it.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-06-2018, 21:11
Post: #2
RE: End of the line for MinimServer on old QNAP?
I don't understand your comment about step 3 and Developer Tools. The instructions for updating MinimServer on a TS-109 are in this section and step 3 has no mention of Developer Tools.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-06-2018, 16:12
Post: #3
RE: End of the line for MinimServer on old QNAP?
That's a shame if it's truly the end of the line for MinimServer on old QNAP. I bet you someone will find a way to keep it going though. At least I hope so.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-06-2018, 19:56
Post: #4
RE: End of the line for MinimServer on old QNAP?
As far as i know, it is still working if you follow the instructions in the link that I referenced. Have you tried doing this?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-09-2018, 13:51
Post: #5
RE: End of the line for MinimServer on old QNAP?
(11-06-2018 19:56)simoncn Wrote:  As far as i know, it is still working if you follow the instructions in the link that I referenced. Have you tried doing this?

Sincere apologies for leaving this thread hanging so long. The day after posting my wife had a stroke and we're only now getting our lives back on track.

Apologies too that it was entirely my error. I was probably working hurriedly, going from the MS home page and at some point must have missed a warning about which model of QNAP the instructions were relevant for. I've just updated MS successfully by following the correct links and it's working flawles - well, blow me! as I actually typed that word the music suddenly dropped!! It's up again now though and I suspect it's more to do with network issues than MinimServer; I've been having problems recently with devices dropping connection even though they're wired.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-09-2018, 20:53
Post: #6
RE: End of the line for MinimServer on old QNAP?
I'm sorry to hear about your wife's stroke. I hope she is recovering well.

Also glad to hear you have MinimServer working now. The "old QNAP" support is on borrowed time as all the software involved (firmware, JRE, NPTL) is so old that if it does break I won't be able to fix it.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-09-2018, 11:07
Post: #7
RE: End of the line for MinimServer on old QNAP?
Simon, re "old qnap":

Does this affect old Netgear also ?
As you might remember I use a Readynas Ultra II. Despite it's age it is running perfectly, with Minimserver and in general. The only updates to this are the Minimserver/streamer ones coming from you.
I hope that I can continue to use this for several years still.

Claus
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-09-2018, 21:11
Post: #8
RE: End of the line for MinimServer on old QNAP?
The situation is better with "old NETGEAR" because this uses a more recent version of Linux (especially on ARM models). However, with all old hardware that is no longer receiving firmware updates, there is a risk that new versions of MinimServer and/or Java might not be compatible.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-09-2018, 16:32
Post: #9
RE: End of the line for MinimServer on old QNAP?
(01-09-2018 20:53)simoncn Wrote:  I'm sorry to hear about your wife's stroke. I hope she is recovering well.

Also glad to hear you have MinimServer working now. The "old QNAP" support is on borrowed time as all the software involved (firmware, JRE, NPTL) is so old that if it does break I won't be able to fix it.

Thanks for your thoughtful concern. She's doing well now thanks, though we've just been through a scary patch when she had a minor post-stroke seizure! Back home now and recuperating well.

I completely understand re the old TS-109 being on borrowed time; I think it's remarkable you've maintained versions for it for so long. I've just hit a snag with playing a BBC R3 from it, but if I can't resolve it I'll make a fresh post. I suspect the issue could be with the latest version of BubbleUpN, which seems to have had quite an overhaul.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)