Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Feature request: tag default value (constant)
21-09-2018, 10:55 (This post was last modified: 21-09-2018 10:55 by paultaylor.)
RE: Feature request: tag default value (constant)
(19-09-2018 14:41)GioF_71 Wrote:  OK thank you, I appreciate that.
OTOH, I am also a java programmer, so in case you make some decisions about the distribution model, I would be more than happy to participate to the project.
Hi, it would be quite trivial to use a tagging application to simply set this value for all files that are blank. But also since you are a Java programmer you could also very easily use my jaudiotagger opensrc library to achieve this.

I would also think that in general it makes sense to try and do things once and keep the MinimServer configuration simple rather than trying to do everything in MinimServer, since the more complex the MinimServer configuration the slower it may be.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-11-2019, 09:22
Hello paultaylor, sorry for reviving such a zombie thread.
While you are totally right, I was exactly trying to avoid a full rewrite of my library just to set a default value.

Quote:I would also think that in general it makes sense to try and do things once and keep the MinimServer configuration simple rather than trying to do everything in MinimServer, since the more complex the MinimServer configuration the slower it may be.

Also right... [he says while he wipes his tears]
Find all posts by this user
15-11-2019, 10:13
I have a tag called ALBUMTYPE that serves a very similar purpose, although I make sure it's always populated with numeric values that I translate to literals using MinimServer's tagUpdate functionality:

@ALBUMTYPE=1
=ALBUMTYPE=Studio
@ALBUMTYPE=2
=ALBUMTYPE=BestOf
@ALBUMTYPE=3
=ALBUMTYPE=Live
@ALBUMTYPE=4
=ALBUMTYPE=Archival
@ALBUMTYPE=5
=ALBUMTYPE=Compilation
@ALBUMTYPE=6
=ALBUMTYPE=Soundtrack