Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Question about Group tag and track renumbering
08-05-2016, 23:25
Question about Group tag and track renumbering
Hi Simon,

I have been using the UPnP plugin of foobar 2000 for a couple of years, which is quite nice because it allows to use scripts for configuring the media tree with virtual folders. But as I don't want to switch my PC on when I listen to music, I began to look for a UPnP server that can run on the Raspberry Pi. This was a frustrating experience, as the servers I tried were just not suitable for classical music or too buggy.

But then I got across MinimServer. I have to say that I'm really impressed. I think MinimServer is the only serious UPnP server for classical music. The feature of intelligent browsing is outstanding. So MinimServer = MaximFlexibility! Thank you very much for building this software!

I am still in the process of experimenting and thinking how to change my tags. My first question is about the Group tag.

As I have tagged everything with a WORK tag and, when appropriate, a MOVEMENT tag, I started with a tag alias of Work:Group. But this adds single-element groups for all works without movements. So now I think it is better to set explicit GROUP tags on my media files. This can easily be done with the foobar2000 Masstagger plugin by copying WORK to GROUP if MOVEMENT is set.