MinimServer Forum
Problem with installing MinimWatch - Printable Version

+- MinimServer Forum (https://forum.minimserver.com)
+-- Forum: MinimServer (/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+--- Thread: Problem with installing MinimWatch (/showthread.php?tid=4054)

Pages: 1 2

Problem with installing MinimWatch - Ketonjo - 02-06-2017 10:38

Hi,

I'm a newbie here and I've just started using MinimServer which is installed on my Synology 216j NAS. From what I understand I should install MinimWatch on my Windows PC if I want to have greater control tagging my audio files.

So, I've downloaded the MinimWatch (0.8.4-install.exe) to my laptop and the icon is on my desktop, although it is grey. I mistakenly opened it with Word so I've tried to uninstall and then re-install but it still now automatically tries to open in Word,

The question I have, what do I do now? What should I open the app with? If I open with IE, a "View and track your downloads" window pops up but when I click on Open for the mwatch.jar (whatever that is), it just tries to open in Word.

I've looked at the instructions (Installing or updating MinimWatch on Windows) but this hasn't helped.

I'm totally ignorant about all this so any help would be appreciated.

Cheers
John

RE: Problem with installing MinimWatch - Peter@57m - 02-06-2017 11:37

Welcome to MinimServer and the forum.

This link points to the Windows install page for MinimWatch http://minimserver.com/install-windows-mwatch.html

My first question would be do you have Java installed?
If not follow the instructions and install it.
If you do have it installed then its possible Windows has associated the wrong program with the file - see note below.

Post back how you get on, there are many people on the forum that can help.

From Simon in other post (MinimServer developer):